« All Events
Gil Shaham, violin

The Austin Symphony is excited to present one of the greatest living violinists of our time, Gil Shaham. Mr. Shaham will perform Korngold’s exciting Violin Concerto in D Major. Also that evening the Austin Symphony will perform Franz Liszt’s Les Préludes and conclude with Dvořák’s Symphony No. 7 in D Minor.

You don’t want to miss Mr. Shaham play on his rare 1699 “Countess Polignac” Stradivarius.

Have you ever wondered what it’s like to play a violin? Come to the mezzanine level and do some hands-on learning. Representatives from Violins Etc. will be giving quick lessons on how to play before the performance and during intermission.

Violins are courtesy of Violins Etc.

Tweet with ASO musicians the night of the performance. Conductor Peter Bay will be Tweeting during intermission! Use #asogilshaham. You can also find us on Twitter by clicking here.

Liszt Les Préludes
Korngold Violin Concerto in D Major, Op. 35
Dvořák Symphony No. 7 in D Minor, Op. 70
Show program notes
Show guest artist bio

Maestro's choice recordings, Purchase recommended recordings from and help support the ASO

  • Barber: Concerto for Violin and Orchestra, Op. 14/Korngold: Much Ado about Nothing Suite Op. 11
    Purchase at Amazon
  • Dvorák: Symphonies Nos. 5, 7, 8, & 9 - From the New World
    Purchase at Amazon


  • Conoco Phillips